Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Michaels 2/1 ACBL

#1 User is offline   dickiegera 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2019-July-03, 16:47

Playing michaels cue bids I know that with 16+ you can Michaels and bid.

Also with 12 - 15 you bid your suits.

What is the desired minimum? Is 6 pts enough if pts in your suits?
Should you have tricks on defense? 1 or 2?

Thank you

#2 User is offline   dsLawsd 

• PipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-July-04, 01:55

I like 8 points the majors and prefer to play 1-2 showing about 10+ in my suits. Over 1 2 even better. But that changes depending on the event and whether partner is a passed hand or not.

But sometimes lite makes sense especially at matchpoints. Need to consider the partnership preferences and temperaments.

#3 User is offline   FelicityR 

• PipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2019-July-04, 05:42

I readily admit I'm not an expert, only advanced, but I always used Michael's as a constructive bid, not as a pre-emptive tool. I agree with the previous comment from dsLawsd that you have to have some substance to use Michael's. Bidding on QJxxx QJxxx xx x even at favourable vulnerability wouldn't interest me. However give me KQJxx x xx QTxxx and I would happily bid 2 over 1.

So my minimum criteria is 8 points for 1 - 2 Michael's; 10 points for 1 - 2 Michael's as responder has to bid at the three level. And only guaranteeing one defensive trick at the most.

#4 User is offline   ge0ff 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2019-July-04, 06:09

I play both weak (6 - 10) and strong (16+) two suited overcalls (Michaels and Unusual NT). Partner responds as if it is a weak overcall and subsequent bidding by overcaller shows the stronger hand. This is a simple approach which deals with a wide range of values.

(With 11-15 I overcall in one suit and bid the other if the auction allows.)

#5 User is offline   Vampyr 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members