BBO Discussion Forums: Recommendations for intro bidding books that use 2/1 - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Recommendations for intro bidding books that use 2/1

#1 User is offline   zzxjoanw 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2019-July-07, 16:10

When I was a complete novice to bridge, a more experienced friend recommended that I read the book "Standard Bidding with SAYC" by Ned Downey and Ellen Pomer. It assumes that the reader knows the rules of bridge and is familiar with HCP and total points (i.e., HCP + distribution points) but not much else. It covers the basics of natural bidding plus a few of the most common conventions (Stayman, Jacoby transfers, fourth suit forcing, Michaels, Unusual 2NT, takeout doubles, negative doubles, Blackwood).

Now I am in a similar situation of being an experienced player trying to teach a novice how to bid. I want to buy her a book that, like "Standard Bidding with SAYC", explains the principles of natural bidding (so sequences like 1M-2M-4M, 1M-3M-4M, 1M-2M-3M-4M, 1m-1M-2M-4M, etc. will make sense to her) and the most common conventions but is based on 2/1 instead of SAYC. So I'm not looking for something like the Hardy or Lawrence books that go through the system in excruciating detail.

I tried searching the web but I couldn't find what I'm looking for. So now I am being lazy and asking the BBO community for recommendations.

#2 User is offline   Vampyr 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-July-07, 18:23

View Postzzxjoanw, on 2019-July-07, 16:10, said: